Sunday, 23 September 2012

Centralian Land Management Association

The Northern Territory has four pastoral landcare associations that together service more than 100 properties in Central Australia, the Barkly, Victoria River District and Roper River catchment. I will preview all four associations in separate posts.
Centralian Land Management Association (CLMA) is the pastoral industry’s Landcare group in central Australia. It was formed in 1988 by a group of local pastoralists and has developed into the largest Landcare group (by area) in Australia, extending from Tennant Creek to south of the NT/SA border.

Beef cattle is the primary enterprise in the region and the CLMA area represents about 300,000 km² (30 million ha) of land under pastoral lease. The average size of cattle stations in central Australia is over 3,000 km² (300,000 ha). Most cattle stations are family-run properties in remote locations and about 80 properties occupy this area, of which close to 60% are members of the CLMA.

The aim of the group is to promote land management practices that will ensure the sustainable and productive use of pastoral lands. The CLMA employs technical and scientific staff to ensure credibility and scientifically sound services for its members.

CLMA coordinators are funded through Territory Natural Resource Management to implement projects and priorities from the NT Integrated NRM Plan. Projects include Ecosystem Management Understanding (EMU) and soil conservation and machinery workshops.
For more information on CLMA, click here.

Acknowledgement: Centralian Land Management Association

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.